6 Authors You Should Read If You Love The Idea Of Romance

1. Monday (Blog)

The genre of romance entices the readers. It is the place where they take a leap of faith to dive into the deep ocean of sugar and spice and everything nice. It’s the space where flowers bloom under the gypsy moon and birds tweet sweet songs of love. If this is the genre you look forward to and it makes you go weak in the knees, here are six authors you should read who’ll help rekindle romance in your life.

  1. William Shakespeare: The great ‘Bard of Avon’ has been undisputedly declared the ‘greatest playwright of all times’, apart from numerous other titles bestowed upon him that seal the deal for his unchallengeable position. Often credited with inventing over 1700 common English words, the world has been in awe of the bard even after 400 years of his death. If you wish to read some memorable pieces of the romantic genre, Shakespeare is your man.

  2. Jane Austen: Born in 1775, Jane Austen’s tryst with books started at a young age. She penned her first novella at the age of fourteen. The author, best known for her classics that subtly critiqued the society gave some memorable pieces like Pride and Prejudice (ah! Who can forget the splendid romance between proud Mr Darcy and prejudiced Elizabeth Bennet), Emma, Sense and Sensibility and the list goes on.

  3. Charlotte Bronte: Charlotte Bronte, born in 1816, was encouraged by her parents to read and take interest in the world beyond the little confines. As a result, she came up with her first collection titled Juvenilia when she was quite young. Charlotte, along with her sisters Anne and Emily published under the names Currer, Ellis and Acton Bell respectively. Together, the sisters were unconquereable. In fact, when the trio dropped their most memorable works – Jane Eyre, Wuthering Heights and Agnes Grey – together, they were well received.

  4. George Eliot: Born as Mary Ann Evans in 1819, the Mill on the Floss author was a voracious reader since the start. Encouraged by her parents to study, she grew up to be a poet, journalist, translator and undoubtedly, one of the greatest English novelists. She was so passionate about reading that she taught herself from the library. Writing at an age when women writers were writing romantic cliches, she choose to protest this trend and wrote an article ‘Silly Novels by Women Novelists’ expressing her displeasure.

  5. Nora Roberts: Nora Roberts, like her predecessors, was bitten by the reading bug early on. The stories she read fired her imagination but it was only when she turned 29 did she begin writing seriously. Though it was a difficult start as many of her potential best sellers couldn’t find publishers, when she did arrive the scene, she published 23 novels in quick succession. What is most loved about this undisputed ‘Queen of Romance’ is the fact that her heroines are not damsels in distress waiting to be rescued.

  6. Nicholas Sparks: Nicholas Sparks is a name associated with loveable stories about blossoming love that may have bitter-sweet endings. His novels revolve around the theme of loneliness, loss, grief, redemption and the power of love. Sparks wrote his first novel The Passing in 1985. He did a lot of odd jobs in between but he always found solace in writing. It was with The Notebook that he received the attention he deserved. If you want to experience a strong gush of emotion, try A Walk to Remember, The Last Song and Message in a Bottle, to name a few.

Psst! Get to know about the life and times of these authors and indulge in some interesting activities in one book. Yes, you heard that right! With ‘How I Hate Romance and All That Jazz, you’ll rekindle your romance with these six authors of the romantic genre. What are you waiting for? Hurry!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s